Review: Revved

Race car mechanic Andressa “Andi” Amaro has one rule—no dating drivers. With a good reason behind the rule, she has no plans on breaking it.

Carrick Ryan is the bad boy of Formula One. With a face and body that melts panties on sight, and an Irish lilt that leaves women on their knees, begging for more. He races hard and parties harder. The youngest driver to ever sign with F1, he’s still at the top of his game five years later, breaking hearts on and off the tracks.

When Andi is offered her dream job working in the glamorous world of F1, she leaves her home in Brazil, positive she can handle working for Carrick. But she’s not prepared for the off-the-chart sparks that fly the moment they meet.

Now, Andi has a crush on the one man she can’t have, and her resolve is about to be put to the test, because Carrick has decided he wants Andi, and he plans on testing her to the very limit. 

nayttokuva-2016-10-19-kello-15-28-20Amazon Goodreads

Author: Samantha Towle
Pages: 411
Published: March 22, 2015

It got me awhile to decide if I should finish this book or not. The start was a bit sticky and it took sometime to get the natural flow into the book. Once I got going I was glad I didn’t stop because it got better towards the end. The dialogue between Andi and Carrick started to feel more normal, like how people would actually talk to each other. And once they established that, wow, was it hot between these two, or what?! Carrick is a bit cocky, player who has revolving door in his bedroom and I loved his intensity and self-confidence  which he showed when pursuing Andi. Without wanting to give any spoilers, the scene at the empty bar was seriously panty melting stuff!

That’s about everything I liked in Revved mainly because that’s about everything there was in the book. The whole book concentrated around Andi and Carrick’s relationship and I wanted her to have a deeper relationship with other characters, I wanted there to be some point for them to be in the book. It just felt like they were introduced so that they could push Andi towards Carrick. They were so two-demsional, they had no depth in them that it drove me crazy sometimes.

And although I loved reading the Andi and Carrick moments because they were intense and hot every time, it just felt like this could’ve been a hundred pages shorter than it was. There was just so much back and forth going, that it seemed like the plot was just repeating itself and I found the ending to be a little too easy. After all that breaking up and getting back together, I found it hard to belive that this time they would actually stay together. It just read ”they were working on their problems” and we were just magically supposed to believe it.

Honestly, I would’ve probably given this book three stars if it hadn’t been the hot sexual language and sex scenes that were written so amazingly. I saw there was another book in the series that is about a new couple and I’m going to check it out, just to see if it has so panty melting moments also.

P.S I was a little hesitant about reading this at all since I like Formula One and was afraid Towle wouldn’t get her facts right. Eventhough the cars and the races were pushed aside little too much (but that’s just me, because I like sports I want to read about them!) she obviously had some knowledge or did her research. So points for her for that!

2 thoughts on “Review: Revved

Leave a Reply

